(910) 575 - 7337
North Carolina Traffic Offense Lawyers

Traffic Offenses


Traffic offenses can be detrimental to your insurance premiums as well as your privilege to drive.  Our District Attorney’s Office may require you to sign an Application for Traffic Offense Reduction and/or attend a Defensive Driving School for reductions of certain offenses.  Please contact our firm so that we can advise you as to the best course of action related to your specific traffic offense.


The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles assesses the following points for traffic violations:

Passing stopped school bus. . . .4

Aggressive driving. . . 8

Hit and run, property damage only . . . 4

Driving on wrong side of road . . .2

Reckless Driving. . . 4

Following too close. . . 2

Illegal passing. . . 4

No liability insurance . . . 3

All other moving violations. . . 1


In addition NCDMV may suspend your license for the following:

  • Accumulation of 12 points in 3 years
  • Accumulation of 8 points in 3 years after reinstatement
  • Impaired driving
  • Fraudulent use of license
  • Offense out-of-state that is grounds for suspension in North Carolina
  • Within 12 months:
  • Two or more speeding convictions of more than 55 mph but less than 80 mph
  • Speeding in excess of 75 mph in a 70 mph zone
  • One (1) Aggressive Driving and One (1) Speeding of more than 55 mph but less than 80 mph
  • Speeding in excess of 80 mph in a 70 mph zone
  • Suspension due to points:
  • 1st suspension – 60 days
  • 2nd suspension – 6 months
  • 3rd suspension – Not in excess of 1 year

Your insurance company may assess the following points:

12 points: DWI; hit and run with bodily injury or death; prearranged racing

10 points: Speeding to elude arrest; racing not prearranged

8 points: Driving during a period of suspension; aggressive driving

4 points: Hit and run with property damage only; reckless driving; passing a stopped school bus while displaying signs; speeding in excess of 75 in a 70 mph zone; speeding in excess of 80 in a 70 mph zone or greater; DWI and driver is less than 21

3 points: At-fault accident resulting in death or total bodily injury (in excess of $1800.00) or total personal property (in excess of $3000.00)

2 points: Illegal passing; following too closely; driving on the wrong side of the road; speeding more than 10 mph over the posted speed limit where speed was in excess of 55>75 mph; speeding 10 mph or less in a posted speed zone of 55 mph or greater

1 point: Speeding 10 mph or less where the posted speed is less than 55 mph; any other conviction of a moving violation


Insurance Point System:

1 point = 30% increase

2 points = 45% increase

3 points = 60% increase

4 points = 80% increase

8 points = 195% increase

10 points = 260% increase

12 points = 340% increase


Download the Brunswick Defendant Affidavit »

Request a Free Consultation
Contact Us Today

home     practice areas     about us     attorneys & staff     faqs     our location     our philosophy     contact us

Myrtle Beach Web Design by Three Ring Focus
Copyright 2002-2019 Trest & Twigg, PLLC, Attorneys at Law®
Trest and Twigg, A Law Firm Representing people in need of legal assistance from our office located at 4631 Main St, Shallotte, NC 28470. Our lawyers are licensed to practice law in the state of North Carolina. We are a general practice law firm concentrating in the following matters: License Restoration, Personal Injury, Traffic Offenses, Probate, Wills & Estates, and Wrongful Death.